November 30, 2022 Patrick Korir

Nairobi City Stars squad for the 2022-23 FKF Premier League season

City Stars during the Elite Pre-season Cup played at Kasarani Annex in Sept 2022. 

Photo credit - Hassan Mandevu

Nairobi City Stars has registered 26 players for the 2022-23 FKF Premier League season.

Broken down, 17 players who did duty for the club last season stayed on for Simba wa Nairobi’s new season.

They were joined by nine new faces who were onboarded to replace 14 that left the club at the wrap of the 2021-22 FKF Premier League season.

Of the 17, six had running contracts from the previous season. They include keeper Elvis Ochoro, defender Dennis Wanjala, midfielders Rwoland Makati, Elvis Noor Ojiambo, and Ronney Kola, and striker Vincent Otieno Okoth.

They were joined by eleven others who renewed their contracts at the close of their previous terms at the end of the 2021-22 season in June 2022.

Those that stayed on include keepers Jacob Osano and Stephen Njunge, defenders Calvin Masawa, Edwin Buliba, Kenedy Onyango, and Herit Mungai.

They were joined by midfielders Anthony Kimani, Mohammed Bajaber, Peter Opiyo, and Oliver Maloba, as well as striker Ezekiel Odera.

Away from the players, there are two new faces on the technical bench. Abel Abelo Omuhaya, formerly with Kakamega Homeboyz, joins the club as the new goalkeeper trainer.

Victor Rolex Onyango will also be part of the bench as a replacement for Joseph Andere as the kit manager.

Nicholas Muyoti stays on as the head coach, with John Amboko and Noah Abich as his first and second assistants, respectively.

Ronny Kagunzi will do yet another season as the team manager as club legend Arthur Museve retains his position as the clubs’ Security Officer.

Complete squad (with shirt numbers)

Goalkeepers: 1. Elvis Ochoro, 16. Jacob Osano, 23. Stephen Njunge

Defenders: 4. Elly Kessy Osotsi, 5. Timothy Muganda, 8. Calvin Masawa, 12. Edwin Buliba, 14. Rowland Makati, 25. Kenedy Onyango, 26. Dennis Wanjala, 28. Herit Mungai

Midfielders: 2. Elvis Noor Ojiambo, 6. Ronney Kola, 10. Peter Opiyo, 11. Andrew Kisilu, 15. Newton Ochieng, 17. Daniel Odhiambo, 18.  Clifford Ouma, 20. Kelvin Etemesi, 21. Oliver Maloba, 30. Anthony Kimani, 31. Mohammed Bajaber

Strikers: 7. Pius Omachi, 9. Vincent Otieno Okoth, 22. Samuel Kapen, 32. Ezekiel Odera,

Technical bench: Nicholas Muyoti (head coach), John Amboko (first assistant coach), Noah Abich (second assistant coach), Ronny Kagunzi (team manager), Arthur Museve (security officer), Abel Omuhaya (goalkeeper trainer), Victor Rolex Onyango (Kit manager)

, , , , , , ,