January 11, 2020 Patrick Korir

‘Shitu’ goal downs host Shabana

Salim 'Shitu' Abdalla in a past game. He scored the lone goal as City Stars beat host Shabana 1-0 at Gusii Stadium on Sat 11 Jan 2020

Nairobi City Stars returned to winning ways after taking down home team Shabana 1-0 at the Gusii Stadium in a 20th round National Super League (NSL) tie played on Saturday 11 January 2020.

A tapped goal by centre back Salim Shitu Abdalla, off a rebound, was the separator in the game. The goal came off an assist from right back Kevin Chumsy Okumu seven minutes after the restart.

With the latest win, the ninth in ten away games this season, Simba Wa Nairobi reclaims their seven-point lead in the 19-team NSL as they hit the 46-point mark from 19 games.

The gap had reduced to four points after second Bidco United bamboozled Mt. Kenya United 5-2 at Camp Toyoyo in an earlier kick off.

It is the second time Shitu has won a game for City Stars as it follows on a header, the third goal in early October at Karuturi Grounds, that guaranteed a 3-2 win over hosts Kenya Police.

Pending other results, Shabana remains eleventh with 24 points following the home loss.

Newly signed Azizi Okaka made his debut in the game after coming on for striker Ebrima Sanneh in the second half.

City Stars went to the game on the back of a 1-0 loss Kibera Black Stars in the final round of first round games on 20 December 2019 as Shabana carried a memorable 3-2 win over form team Migori Youth the same day.

Next up for City Stars, now unbeaten in a record 16 straight away NSL games, is a home game against Vihiga Bullets on Sunday 19 January 2020 at Hope Centre, Kawangware.


Shabana: 1. Dennis Ayusa, 11. Stephene Nyakoe, 12. Victor Matete, 16. Emmanuel Nwanko, 15. Abuga Nyangechi, 4. John Omondi, 7. Dennis Onyancha, 8. Peter Ogechi, 12. Joel Djolo, 3. Fred Nyakundi, 17. Mohammed Coulibaly

Subs: 30. Richard Wandera, 2. Kevin Onsongo, 24. Andrew Wafula, 5. Emmanuel Sogba, 10. Adams Simbili, 14. Ismael Musa, 9. Abon Traore

Nairobi City Stars: 23. Levis Opiyo, 8. Calvin Masawa, 4. Salim Abdalla, 22. Wycliffe Otieno, 28. Kevin Okumu, 30. Anthony Kimani (Captain), 2. Elvis Ojiambo, 21. Oliver Maloba (3. Charles Otieno), 19. Jimmy Bageya, 16. Vincent Otieno (25. David Gateri), 26. Ebrima Sanneh (27. Aziz Okaka)

Unused Subs: 1. Ronny Kagunzi, 13. Eric Ochieng, 12. Edwin Buliba

Goal & Assist; Salim Abdalla (Kevin Okumu)

MVP: 19. Jimmy Bageya

*Travelling Peter Opiyo was not included in the match squad as he is yet to receive his ITC from Turkmen Federation

, , , , , , , , ,