February 26, 2022 Patrick Korir

Kuta up for debut against Mathare United

Augustine Kuta during his unveiling at Nairobi City Stars

January signing Augustine Kuta is up for his Nairobi City Stars debut after being called in for the upcoming FKF Premier League clash against Mathare United at the Thika Stadium on Saturday 26 February 2022 starting at 3 pm.

Kuta, roped in during the mid-transfer window, is one of three changes made from the squad that drew 1-1 with Nzoia Sugar in Sudi two weeks back, besides right-back Kevin Chumsy Okumu and defensive-mid Charles Otieno.

While Kuta comes on for flyer Rodgers Okuse Okumu, Otieno takes up the place of Sven Yidah who is suspended for the game due to the accumulation of five yellow cards.

Clumsy, who missed the last two games; the Kariobangi Sharks tie due to yellow card suspension, and the trip to Nzoia, is in for attacking midfielder Mike Madoya who takes a rest.

From the squad that faced Mathare United in December during the first leg, winning 2-0, changes are three.

Besides Okuse and Yidah, stopper Edwin Buliba who clocked a full 90 minutes in that game, as Salim Shitu Abdallah’s centre half partner, is out due to an injury suffered three weeks back in training. His place in the squad is taken up by defensive-mid Elvis Noor Ojiambo.

Okuse and Yidah’s absence hands John Kamau, as well as Kuta, the chance to take on Mathare United.

City Stars squad to face Mathare United

Goalkeepers: 16. Jacob Osano, 23. Stephen Njunge

Defenders: 4. Salim Abdallah, 25. Kenedy Onyango, 26. Dennis Wanjala, 19. Kevin Okumu, 27. Lennox Ogutu, 8. Calvin Masawa, 28. Herit Mungai,

Midfielders: 10. Peter Opiyo, 30. Anthony Kimani-captain, 20. Timothy Noor Ouma, 21. Oliver Maloba, 3. Charles Otieno, 2. Elvis Noor Ojiambo, 29. Augustine Kuta, 15. John Kamau,

Strikers: 11. Davis Agesa, 32. Ezekiel Odera, 17. Nicholas Kipkirui

Out: 22. Wycliffe Otieno, 6. Ronney Kola, 24. Erick Ombija, 5. Michael Madoya, 14. Rowland Makati, 1. Elvis Ochoro, 9. Vincent Otieno Okoth, 7. Rodgers Okumu, 18. Sven Yidah, 12. Edwin Buliba, 31. Mohammed Bajaber

, , ,