December 21, 2020 Patrick Korir

Players, Technical bench receive promotion awards

Jonathan Jackson Foundation CEO Diana Sifuna awards head coach Sanjin Alagic during the club's promotion awards gala on Mon 21 Dec 2020. Looking on is Elvis Ojiambo, Herit Mungai and Oliver Maloba

On the evening of Monday 21 December 2020, Nairobi City Stars, in an event held at Ambo Gardens in Lavington, extended its appreciation to the lot of players and Technical bench that promoted the team back to the Premier League back in year 2020 after four seasons in the second tier.

Simba wa Nairobi topped the National Super League (NSL) last season to regain their top tier status.

According to team coordinator Samson Otieno, all 25 players and ten members of the technical bench who were in the club roster last season – including those that left at the end of the season – were all awarded.

“We called the gala to award our team members from last season for their stellar performance in getting the team promoted back to the Premier League.” said Samson

Adding his voice was club CEO Patrick Korir who said;

“A job well done must be rewarded. In our culture a good deed follows even those that left us for the role they played in getting the team back to where it is now.”

Diana Sifuna, the CEO at the Jonathan Jackson Foundation – owner and sponsor of Nairobi City Stars – said;

“We recognize all the effort put in by the players and technical bench in getting the team back to where it really belongs in the premier league. It’s an honor to be here and we pass our sincere gratitude to all of you for your dedicated effort from last season.” said Diana on behalf of chair Jonathan Jackson

Each player took home a monetary token as well as a commemorative plaque.

In a special part of the gala, the team’s departed team manager Neville Pudo, who was laid to rest on Saturday 19 December 2020 at his home in Nyanza, was awarded posthumously.

He was represented at the event by his son Neville Pudo Jnr (below).

Neville Pudo Jnr. picking being handed a plaque for his late father by Jonathan Jackson Foundation (JJF) CEO Diana Sifuna on Mon 21 Dec 2020

Those awarded;

Goalkeepers: Levis Opiyo, Ronny Kagunzi (left the club), Jacob Osano

Defenders: Tedian Atuto, Kevin Okumu (left the club), Wycliffe Otieno, Salim Abdalla, Edwin Buliba, Noah Abich (retired), Wesley Onguso, Calvin Masawa, John Kamau

Midfielders: David Gateri, Eric Ochieng (left the club), Anthony Kimani, Azizi Okaka, Oliver Maloba, Charles Otieno, Elvis Ojiambo, Peter Opiyo,

Strikers: Jimmy Bageya, Ezekiel Odera, Vincent Otieno, Davis Agesa, Ebrima Sanneh

Technical Bench: Sanjin Alagic (head coach), John Amboko (assistant coach), Joseph Andere (kit manager), Arthur Museve (trainer), Zachary Onyango (goalkeeper trainer), Neville Pudo (Team Manager), Winnie Nyasiri (Team Media)

Others (all left the club): Tiellen Oguta (assistant coach), Grace Wang’ondu (Trainer/Nutritionist), Dennis Mugisha (Physio),

Management: Samson Otieno (team coordinator), Patrick Korir (CEO), Jonathan Jackson (Chairman)

Promotion plaques on parade on Mon 21 Dec 2020 from (L to R); Oliver Maloba (21), Wesley Onguso (5), Wycliffe Otieno (22), Elvis Noor Ojiambo (2), Charles Otieno (3), Jacob Osano (16)

, , , , , , , ,