September 15, 2021 Patrick Korir

Njunge, Abich feted at Gala night

Steve Njunge has joined Nairobi City Stars on a two-year deal

Stephen Njunge and Noah Abich were, on the evening of Tuesday 14 September 2021, were recognized as the joint runners-up goalkeeper and runners-up team manager of the year during the FKF Premier league gala-night.

Njunge, who had a stellar season with Nairobi City Stars in the ended 2020-21 season after clocking the full 33 games and amassing a total of 2,970 minutes, took home Kshs 300,000 for his achievement.

Abich, who led Simba wa Nairobi to promotion in the 2019/20 season before taking up a role on the technical bench, took home Kshs 200,000 and a trophy.

“The recognition I received challenges me to work even harder,” said the soft-spoken Steve who managed 11 clean sheets, one short of winner James Saruni of Ulinzi who took home Kshs 500,000

“It’s exciting and I wish to thank all my team members for making it happen,” added Njunge

Abich, who interestingly always referred to himself across the season as the ‘Team Manager of the year’, said;

“This is a good surprise that was only made possible by the contribution of everyone in the team. I appreciate it but I wish to thank all in the team for making it possible.” he said from Kisumu where he is attending a CAF ‘C’ course

Full list of awards


Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks)- Sh 1,000,000

MVP Nominees: Eugene Asike, Henry Meja (both Tusker), Elvis Rupia (AFC Leopards, Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka)

Midfielder of the year:

1.       Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka)- Sh 300,000

2.       Kevin Kimani (Wazito)- Sh 200,000

3.       Jackson Macharia (Tusker)- Sh 100,000

Defender of the year: 

1.       Eugene Asike (Tusker)– Sh 300,000

2.       Nashon Alembi (KCB)- Sh 200,000

3.       David Kalama (Bidco)- Sh 100,000

Coach of the year:

1.       Robert Matano (Tusker) – Sh 500,000

2.       Zedekiah Otieno (KCB)– Sh 300,000

3.       Andre Casambungo (Bandari)– Sh 150,000

Assistant referee of the year

  1. Margaret Muthoni- Sh 300,000
  2. Gilbert Cheruyoit- Sh 200,000
  3. Samuel Kuria- Sh 100,000

Referee of the year

  1. Peter Waweru- Sh 300,000
  2. Anthony Ogwayo- Sh 200,000
  3. Davis Omweno – Sh 100,000

Digital Team of the Year

  1. Tusker FC (Timothy Olobulu)- Sh 200,000
  2. Bandari FC- Sh 150,000
  3. Kariobangi Sharks- Sh 100,000

Fair play award

  1. Kariobangi Sharks- Sh 300,000
  2. Tusker FC-Sh 200,000
  3. KCB FC-Sh 100,000

Team Manager of the Year

  1. George Opondo (Tusker)– Sh 300,000
  2. Noah Abich (Nairobi City Stars)Sh 200,000
  3. Moses Jobita (Western Stima)– Sh 100,000

Young Player of the year

  1. Henry Meja (Tusker)– Sh 300,000
  2. Lawrence Luvanda (Vihiga United)– Sh 200,000
  3. Sylvester Owino (Kakamega Homeboyz)- Sh 100,000

Golden Boot 

  1. Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks)-24 goals – Sh 500,000
  2. Elvis Rupia (AFC LEopards)-17 goals– Sh 300,000
  3. Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka)-16 goals– Sh 150,000

Golden Glove (Best keeper)

  1. James Saruni  (Ulinzi Stars) – Sh 500,000
  2.  Steve Njunge (Nairobi City Stars)/Joseph Okoth (KCB FC) – Sh 300,000

President’s Award: Rosemary Aluoch Kadondi (deceased) – Sh 500,000

, , , ,