March 28, 2023 Patrick

Mazembe, Okello, Abuyeka join City Stars

Winger James Mazembe and striker Levis Barasa Okello have joined Nairobi City Stars, on loan from KCB and Kakamega Homeboyz, respectively, for the remainder of the 2022/23 FKF Premier League season.

Joining the duo is budding central midfielder Syllvanoes Abuyeka Kubasu from Division One side Vapor Sports.

The trio joins the recently signed FC Talanta pair of forward Dennis Oalo and midfielder Vincent Owino, and the returning center-back Salim Shitu Abdalla, to make it six signings in the month-long mid-season window that shut on Monday 27 March 2023.

Speaking on the latest acquisitions, head coach Nicholas Muyoti had this to say;

“Mazembe and Okello will give us the much-needed punch up front. Our attack during the first leg was of great concern but with the arrival of the two I am confident that things will change for the better,”

“Abuyeka is very promising and versatile. He has been training with us for the last three months and he now has his chance to grace the big stage. He gives us an added option in midfield. He is one for the future,” added Muyoti

The arriving players shared their separate sentiments after joining Simba wa Nairobi;

“Now that I am here, I will put in the right gear and rally my new teammates so that the team can rise from the very unfamiliar position we currently find ourselves in,” said Okello

“I am happy to join one of the best clubs in the country. I will work hard to earn as much playtime as possible so that I can help the team improve it’s fortunes in the league,” said Mazembe

“I am more than grateful for getting this chance. I wish to make the most out of it and prove myself, said Abuyeka

Away from the arrivals, Nairobi City Stars confirms the release of four players; center back Elly Kessy Osotsi and winger Daniel Odhiambo, both to Kibera Black Stars, striker Vincent Otieno Okoth aka Jamaica to Darajani Gogo, and midfielder Oliver Maloba.

Complete squad (with shirt numbers)

Goalkeepers: 1. Elvis Ochoro, 16. Jacob Osano, 23. Stephen Njunge

Defenders: 4. Salim Abdallah, 5. Timothy Muganda, 8. Calvin Masawa, 12. Edwin Buliba, 14. Rowland Makati, 25. Kenedy Onyango, 26. Dennis Wanjala, 28. Herit Mungai

Midfielders: 2. Elvis Noor Ojiambo, 6. Ronney Kola, 10. Peter Opiyo,  15. Newton Ochieng, 18.  Clifford Ouma, 19. Vincent Owino, 21. Syllvanoes Abuyeka, 30. Anthony Kimani, 31. Mohammed Bajaber

Forwards: 7. Pius Omachi, 9. Dennis Oalo, 11. Andrew Kisilu, 17. James Mazembe, 20. Kelvin Etemesi, 22. Samuel Kapen, 24. Levis Okello,  32. Ezekiel Odera

, , , , , , , , ,