September 26, 2021 Patrick

False start against Sofapaka

Nairobi City Stars, Sofapaka, Okuse

Nairobi City Stars went down 3-1 to home team Sofapaka on Sunday 26 September 2021 in a 2021-22 FKF Premier League matchday one tie played in Wundanyi.

Sofapaka carried a 1-0 lead to the break after a breakout Joe Waithira goal in the 40th minute off an assist from the left by Ambrose Sifuna.

They doubled the lead through skipper Lawrence Juma in the 80th minute via a penalty he won after being adjudged to have been fouled by Kevin Okumu in the box. Juma had raced down a long throw from his keeper Kelvin Omondi from mid-pitch into the box.

Substitute Timothy Babu Ouma pulled one back for Simba wa Nairobi in the 86th minute – his debut goal in the premier league – after chesting down a Kevin Chumsy Okumu delivery before firing low at the far post.

In stoppage time an unmarked Alex Imbusia slammed ball home, off a fed from Waithira,  from the edge of the box to end the contest at 3-1.

It was Sofapaka’s seventh win over City Stars in ten home games since year 2009.

City Stars had two debutants; head coach Nicholas Muyoti on the touchline and left-back Dennis Wanjala who joined in the off-season from Nzoia Sugar.

Next up for City Stars is an away game to newly promoted Kenya Police on Sunday 17 October 2021 at Ruaraka grounds starting 3pm.


Sofapaka: 35. Kevin Omondi, 20. Titus Achesa, 27. Stephen Okola, 6. David Nshimiramana, 11. Ambrose Sifuna, 10. Roy Okal, 66. Sebastian Sunday, 17. Alex Imbusia, 40. David King’atua, 16. Joe Waithira, 23. Lawrence Juma

Unused subs: Namasaka, Bernard, Nixon Omondi

Head coach: Kenedy Odhiambo

Nairobi City Stars: 23. Steve Njunge, 19. Kevin Okumu, 25. Kenedy Onyango, 4. Salim Abdallah, 26. Dennis Wanjala, 18. Sven Yidah, 2. Elvis Noor Ojiambo (10. Peter Opiyo-60), 30. Anthony Kimani – Captain (20. Timothy Ouma-60), 32. Ezekiel Odera (9. Vincent Otieno-70), 17. Nicholas Kipkirui, 7. Rodgers Okumu (24. Erick Ombija-60)

Unused: 16. Jacob Osano, 8. Calvin Masawa, 12. Edwin Buliba, 15. John Kamau, 3. Charles Otieno

Did not travel: 21. Oliver Maloba, 6. Ronney Kola & 22. Wycliffe Otieno (all injured), 27. Lennox Ogutu, 28. Herit Mungai, 14. Rowland Makati, 5. Michael Madoya, 29. Ebrima Sanneh, 11. Davis Agesa, 1. Elvis Ochoro,

Head coach: Nicholas Muyoti

Yellow cards

Sofapaka: 11. Ambrose Sifuna (34), 16. Joe Waithira (52), 20. Titus Achesa (65)

Nairobi City Stars: 2. Elvis Noor Ojiambo (38), 19. Kevin Okumu (81)

, , ,