August 14, 2021 Patrick

City Stars rally to draw Posta Rangers

City Stars, Babu

A late Nicholas Kipkirui goal, in the fifth minute of added time, handed Nairobi City Stars a 2-2 draw against Posta Rangers in an FKF Premier league matchday 32 tie at Ruaraka on Saturday 14 August 2021.

City Stars took an early 13th-minute goal when Ezekiel Odera lobbed Ranger’s keeper Kevin Omondi after getting to the end of a Davis Agesa pass for the opener.

Ten minutes later Rangers were level when Eliud Lokuwam fired at the far post after the City Stars defence failed to clear a ball that found him unmarked in the box.

Four minutes into the restart Joshua Nyatini buried home a freekick to hand the visitors the lead all the way to that final minute when Kipkirui decided it would be a game of shared spoils yet again, for the fifth time in City Stars home games versus Rangers.

A floated Bolton Omwenga freekick deep in added time was headed back to the box by Salim Abdalla who was at the far post.

It got a connection by stopper Kenedy Onyango but bounced off the upright straight to Kipkirui’s path who then fired it home to tie the game.

For the rescue, and for saving City Stars from the jaws of defeat, Kipkirui was picked out as the man of the match.

With the draw in the penultimate game of the season, Nairobi City Stars maintains the sixth spot in the standings with a new haul of 45 points as Rangers dropped to 13th spot with 36 points.

Simba wa Nairobi will wrap the season against title-chasing KCB on Sunday 22 August 2021 in Narok starting 3 pm.


Nairobi City Stars: 23. Stephen Njunge, 19. Kevin Okumu (29. Ebrima Sanneh-88), 4. Salim Abdalla, 25. Kenedy Onyango, 26. Bolton Omwenga, 18. Sven Yidah, 30. Anthony Kimani – Captain (2. Elvis Noor Ojiambo-57), 20. Timothy Ouma, 17. Nicholas Kipkirui, 11. Davis Agesa (15. John Kamau-79), 32. Ezekiel Odera (24. Erick Ombija-57)

Unused subs: 1. Elvis Ochoro, 8. Calvin Masawa, 3. Charles Otieno, 12. Edwin Buliba, 28. Herit Mungai

Coach: John Amboko

Posta Rangers: 34. Kelvin Opiyo, 3. Timothy Omondi, 18. Michael Apudo, 5. Kevin Ouma, 26. Suleiman Ngotho, 17. Bernard Ondiek, 7. Dennis Oalo (31. Georson Likonoh-87), 4. Joseph Mbugi – Captain, 25. Joshua Nyatini (8. Peter Ng’ang’a-80), 11. Eliud Lokuwam (9. Josephat Lopaga-69), 12. Francis Nambute

Unused subs: 21. Jairus Adira (GK), 40. Faina Jacobs, 22. Elvis Osok, 30. Steiner Musasia, 27. Clinton Kisiavuki, 6. Cavin Odongo,

Coach: Stanley Okumbi

Yellow cards: None

, , , , , , ,