December 1, 2019 Patrick Korir

City Stars ends jinx, overcomes St. Joseph’s

Anthony 'Muki' Kimani on his way to score the second goal against St. Joseph on Sun 1 Dec 2019 at Camp Toyoyo

A goal on either half handed Nairobi City Stars a 2-0 win over bogey team St. Joseph in a round 17 National Super League (NSL) match played at Camp Toyoyo, Jericho on Sunday 1 December 2019.

On form Davis Agesa, who scored a brace in the last game against Modern Coast Rangers, opened the scoring in the 19th minute from close range, off an assist by skipper Anthony Muki Kimani, after St. Joseph keeper George Ouma failed to hold on to a dangerous ball.

Skipper Anthony Muki Kimani then doubled matters ten minutes into the second half when he met a defense splitting ball from deep by Charles Chale Otieno before rounding off Ouma in goal to slam home the second for Simba wa Nairobi.

The win broke the jinx over the Nakuru-based St. Joseph’s as it was the first time ever since dropping down to the second tier in 2017 that City Stars won a home game against the team.

The scores should have been more but Agesa’s second ten minutes to the close of the first half was called for offside and one other in the second half was also negated for the same reasons.

Into the Sunday game, City Stars had hosted St. Joseph’s three times and had only managed a draw and two straight loses. Overall, City Stars had lost three straight NSL games to the bogey team.

With the win City Stars extended their tally atop the 20-team NSL log to 43 points from 17 games as St. Joseph’s, beaten for the 12th time this season, stayed 18th with eleven points.

Next up for City Stars is an away game to Administration Police at Camp Toyoyo on Sunday 8 December 2019.


Nairobi City Stars: 23. Levis Opiyo, 8. Calvin Masawa, 28. Kevin Okumu, 4. Salim Abdala, 22. Wycliffe Otieno, 3. Charles Otieno, 2. Elvis Ojiambo (25. David Gateri), 21. Oliver Maloba (25. Ebrima Sanneh), 30. Anthony Kimani (captain), 16. Davis Agesa, 19. Jimmy Bageya (16. Vincent Otieno)

Unused Subs: 1. Ronny Kagunzi, 17. Noah Abich, 13. Eric Ochieng, 12. Edwin Buliba

Coach: Sanjin Alagic

St. Joseph’s: 1. George Ouma, 3. James Sadicky, 11. Luke Onesmus, 15. Kevin Atsiano, 16. Kevin Taabu, 12. Elvins Onyango, 14. Stephen Njoroge, 8. Thomas Onyiengo, 10. Salim Akatha, 5. Daniel Kamau, 9. John Likuwha

Subs: 2. Teddy Omondi, . Joseph Shitsokane, 6. Kennedy Onyango, 13. Victor Ngume, 7. Hassan Juma

Coach: Nicholas Mbogo

, , , , , , , , , ,