February 2, 2020 Patrick Korir

City Stars complete double over Bidco United

Nairobi City Stars opened a ten-point gap atop the National Super League (NSL) after coming from behind to beat second placed Bidco United 2-1 at Camp Toyoyo, Jericho on Sunday 2 February 2020.

A purposeful Bidco United took early command of the game with the starting goal in the 23rd minute when Eric Gichimu powered in a header at the far post past City Stars keeper Levis Opiyo.

But tactical changes with seven minutes of the first half that saw defensive midfielder Charles Otieno take up the place of Elvis Ojiambo, saw City Stars shoot forward and two minutes later it was all level.

An intelligent dummy by Davis Agesa, chasing a long ball from deep by defender Salim Abdalla, saw Bidco’s centre back Eric Odhiambo beaten to the ball, and with a sure pass in the box, he picked out skipper Anthony Muki Kimani who finished off the move with a simple tap-in.

The winning goal arrived four minutes into the restart when star player Oliver Maloba squared a pass to Jimmy Bageya for a simple finish.

Maloba started it all with comfort on the ball before playing a 1-2 with Agesa before his final assist grabbed the winning goal.

With the latest win, City Stars hits the 55-point mark from 22 games to distance themselves from Bidco’s 45 points.

During the first leg, City Stars took out Bidco 1-0 in game four at the Thika Stadium ending their three match unbeaten run into the new season.

After Bidco’s take-down, next up for the boys from Kawangware is a home game against Coast Stima next weekend.


Nairobi City Stars

23. Levis Opiyo, 4. Salim Abdalla, 22. Wycliffe Otieno, 8. Calvins Masawa, 12. Edwin Buliba, 30. Anthony Kimani (Captain), 7. Peter Opiyo, 11. Davis Agesa, 21. Oliver Maloba (32. Ezekiel Odera), 2. Elvis Ojiambo (3. Charles Otieno – 38), 8. Jimmy Bageya (25. David Gateri)

Unused subs: 28. Kevin Okumu, 16. Jacob Osano, 27. Azizi Okaka, 9. Vincent Otieno

Coach: Sanjin Alagic

Yellow Cards: Jimmy Bageya – 2′

Goals & Assists; Anthony Kimani – 40th (Davis Agesa), Jimmy Bageya – 49′ (Oliver Maloba)

MVP: 11. Davis Agesa

Bidco United

21. Adisa Omar, 16. David Kalama, 12. Lambert Otieno, 18. Francis Oduor, 24. Erick Odhiambo, 4. Martin Mage, 12. Jacob Onyango, 19. David Orem, 26. Jackson Oketch, 5. Emmanuel Mogaka, 28. Eric Gichimu

Subs: 13. Frankline Mwenda, 3. Geoffrey Gitau, 6. John Oginga, 8. Steven Okiro, 11. Edwin Wamalwa, 20. Nelson Chieta, 9. Henry Omolo

Coach: Japhet Akhulia

, , , , , , , , , ,