December 29, 2021 Patrick Korir

Quartet back for Gor Mahia duel

Salim Abdalla on the ball as Nicholas Kipkirui and Kenedy Onyango look on during a round 17 clash against Champions Gor Mahia at the Utalii grounds on Sun 16 May 2021. Gor won 1-0

Nairobi City Stars head coach Nicholas Muyoti and his technical bench have made five changes to the squad that faced KCB in the last premier league game ahead of the match against Gor Mahia on Thursday 30 December 2021 at Nyayo Stadium from 3 pm.

Due to a flu outbreak, defenders Kevin Chumsy Okumu, Salim Shitu Abdala and Kenedy Vidic Onyango, midfielders Peter Pinchez Opiyo and forward Nicholas Kipchabet Kipkirui all sat out the game against the Bankers but are fully fit and a boost to Simba wa Nairobi against the multiple league champions.

The entry of the five means stopper Lennox Ogutu gives way at the back alongside midfielders Oliver Maloba, Elvis Noor Ojiambo and Rowland Babu Makati, and striker Vincent Jamaica Otieno Okoth.

Comparative to the squad that last faced Gor Mahia in the league in July in Ruaraka, and drew 1-1, changes in the playing unit amounts to six.

Stopper Wycliffe Otieno who made the bench in the July game, as well as Elvis Noor Ojiambo and forward Erick Jibaba Ombija, will also miss out.

Defenders Balton Omwenga and Wesley Onguso, as well as winger Azizi Okaka who have since exited Simba wa Nairobi.

Additions to the July squad include the left-footed trio of Dennis Decha Wanjala, Herit Mungai, and John Bombay Kamau who took up Kipkirui’s slot against KCB on the morning of the game.

Sven Yidah, who was out on CECAFA duty in July with the Kenya U23 squad, is in, and so is fast-rising stopper Edwin Buliba and midfielder Michael Madoya.

20-man squad to face Gor Mahia

Goalkeepers: 16. Jacob Osano, 23. Stephen Njunge

Defenders: 26. Dennis Wanjala, 19. Kevin Okumu, 4. Salim Abdallah, 25. Kenedy Onyango, 8. Calvin Masawa, 28. Herit Mungai, 12. Edwin Buliba

Midfielders: 30. Anthony Kimani-captain, 20. Timothy Ouma, 18. Sven Yidah, 3. Charles Otieno, 7. Rodgers Okumu, 10. Peter Opiyo, 5. Michael Madoya, 15. John Kamau,

Strikers: 11. Davis Agesa, 32. Ezekiel Odera, 17. Nicholas Kipkirui,

Out: 22. Wycliffe Otieno, 6. Ronney Kola (all injured), 24. Erick Ombija, 1. Elvis Ochoro, 29. Ebrima Sanneh, 2. Elvis Noor Ojiambo, 27. Lennox Ogutu, 21. Oliver Maloba, 14. Rowland Makati, 9. Vincent Otieno Okoth

, , , , , , , ,