September 13, 2019 Patrick Korir

Point at Hope against Vihiga United

Nairobi City Stars were held to a barren draw by visiting Vihiga United in a National Super League (NSL) match day three clash played at the Hope Centre, Kawangware on Friday 13 September, 2019 starting 3pm.

City Stars went to the game hoping to stretch their two-game winning start into the season following wins over Shabana (2-0) at the same venue and against Vihiga Bullets (2-1) in Kakamega, as Vihiga paraded a win-draw streak.

But it was not to be as Vihiga United, relegated from the Premier League at the end of last season, forced the hosts to share spoils in mustering the draw.

The visitors had the hosts on the ropes in the first half and could have taken the lead had Alex Waiswa’s shot in the 36th minute not ricocheted off the base of the upright.

Substitute and crowd favorite Oliver Maloba changed the tempo of the game at the start of the second half soon after being introduced for Elvis Ojiambo and could have easily sent the hosts ahead within minutes had he not miscued a perfect cross from the left by Jimmy Bageya. His time shot whiskered above the horizontal.

Mid way through the first half a mis-kick from the City Stars back line almost gifted Vihiga with the winning chance but Waiswa’s blockbuster echoed off the cross bar.

It settled at 0-0 leaving City Stars to maintain third place with seven points as Vihiga moved to eighth place with five points.

“Against such a strong opponent we will take in a point,” said City Stars head coach Sanjin Alagic after the game

Next up for City Stars is an away trip to Bidco United on Wednesday 18 September, 2019.


Nairobi City Stars: 23. Levis Opiyo, 8. Calvin Masawa (Captain), 4. Salim Abdala, 24. Cornelius Mwangi, 17. Noah Abich (28. Kevin Okumu), 3. Charles Otieno, 2. Elvis Ojiambo (21. Oliver Maloba), 30. Anthony Kimani, 11. Davis Agesa, 26. Ebrima Sanneh (16. Vincent Otieno), 26. Jimmy Bageya

Subs: 1. Ronny Kagunzi, 22. Wycliffe Otieno, 25. David Gateri, 15. Peter Wainaina

Yellow; Charles Otieno

Coach: Sanjin Alagic

Vihiga United: 30. Morgan Amboka, 6. Abisalom Onyango, 4. Michael Odongo, 15. Mark Akola, 13. Mophat Liuva, 33. Victor Omondi, 8. Patrick Okulo, 17. Lawrence Luvanda, 40. Dennis Wafula, 36. Alex Waiswa, 21. Junior Adeyefa

Subs: 50. Michael Matasio, 20. Smith Ouko, 35. Kevin Omondi, 16. Alex Imbusia, 10. Hillary Otieno, 24. Lesley Owino, 19. Michael Isabwa

Coach: Sammy Okoth

, , , , , , , , ,