June 3, 2023 Patrick

MD32: Nairobi City Stars 2 Nzoia Sugar 3

James Mazembe in action against Nzoia Sugar in Kasarani Annex on Sat 3 June 2023 during an FKF Premier League matchday 32 tie. Nzoia won it 3-2

Nzoia Sugar posted their first-ever away win over Nairobi City Stars, winning a matchday 32 FKF Premier League tie 3-2 in Kasarani Annex on Saturday 3 June 2023.

The two teams tied 1-1 at halftime before Nzoia raced to a 3-1 lead in the second half leaving City Stars to chase the game.

Simba wa Nairobi opened the scores as early as the third minute when Dennis Oalo finished off a perfect cross from James Mazembe for his debut goal.

Nzoia Sugar drew level in the 36th minute after Hassan Beja finished off a freekick that landed in the box. He was at it again for his brace in the 52nd minute to hand Nzoia the lead.

In the 58th minute, City Stars were a man down after Vincent Owino was shown as second yellow for a foul on a Nzoia player earning his marching orders.

In the 73rd minute, Yasin Sije forced the City Stars’ backline into errors allowing the ball to bounce just over the line, and it was duly awarded for Nzoia to lead 3-1.

At the death, Kelvin Etemesi won a penalty after receiving a long ball from Edwin Buliba. He stepped up to score – his tenth goal of the season – to reduce the score to 3-2.

After the result, City Stars remains 15th on the log with 33 points as Nzoia improved to the 63-point mark.

Next up for Simba wa Nairobi is an away game to FC Talanta on 21 June 2023 in Kasarani Annexx starting 3 pm.


Nairobi City Stars: 23. Steve Njunge, 8. Calvin Masawa-captain, 12. Edwin Buliba, 5. Timothy Muganda, 14. Rowland Makati, 2. Elvis Noor Ojiambo (30. Anthony Kimani-43), 19. Vincent Owino, 15. Newton Ochieng, 21. James Mazembe ((11. Andrew Kisilu-5 (31. Mohammed Bajaber-69)), 9. Dennis Oalo (29. Levis Okello-69), 20. Kelvin Etemesi

Unused subs: 1. Elvis Ochoro, 6. Ronney Kola, 17. Abuyeka Kubasu,

Out: 4. Salim Abdallah, 7. Pius Omachi, 10. Peter Opiyo, 18. Clifford Ouma, 22. Samuel Kapen, 25. Kenedy Onyango, 26. Dennis Wanjala, 28. Herit Mungai, 32. Ezekiel Odera

Coach: Nicholas Muyoti

Nzoia Sugar: 15. Humprey Katasi, 30. Moses Mwale, 29. Vincent Mahiga, 28. Randy Bakari, 5. Ian Karani, 13. Kevin Juma (8. Harun Thomas-82), 10. Hassan Beja (26. Steve Otieno-72), 6. Boniface Kweyu, 14. Yasin Sije (11. Barisa Mohammed-90+), 21. Joseph Mwangi, 18. James Kibande (24. Ian Simiyu-90+)

Unused subs: 23. Daniel Omuse, 3. Timothy Wanyanga, 27. Kevin Maliachi, 17. Emmanuel Esekon,

Coach: Salim Babu

Nairobi City Stars: 19. Vincent Owino (35,58)-red, 2. Elvis Noor Ojiambo (40),
Nzoia Sugar: 13. Kevin Juma (30), 14. Yasin Sije (58), 6. Boniface Kweyu (61)

Nairobi City Stars: 9. Dennis Oalo (4), Kelvin Etemesi (89-pen)
Nzoia Sugar: 14. Yasin Sije (36,58), 10. Hassan Beja (73)

, , , ,