November 4, 2023 Patrick Korir

MD10: Nairobi City Stars 3 AFC Leopards 2

Nairobi City Stars players celebrate one of 3 goals scoted against AFC Leopards in Kasarani on Sat 4 Nov 2023 during a matchday ten 2023/24 FKF Premier League clash. City STars won it 3-2

Nairobi City Stars ended a two-game winless streak in the league, and at home to AFC Leopards, with a 3-2 triumph on Saturday 4 November 2023 during a 2023/24 FKF Premier League clash.

Simba wa Nairobi, with up to seven changes to the squad that lost 2-1 to Muranga SEAL in midweek, took a 3-0 lead before Leopards fought back to add respectability to the scoreline very late in the game.

Vincent Owino scored off a free kick in the 22nd minute for a 1-0 halftime lead. Samuel Kapen scored the second ten minutes after the restart after beating the last man and the keeper to score into an empty net.

Seven minutes later, newcomer Robinson Asenwa, who started his first-ever premier league game, scored a beauty – his second straight goal in three days – to make it 3-0 for the hosts.

Leopards scored a penalty in the 84th minute through Brian Yakhama and followed it up with a second off a freekick five minutes later through Vicent Otieno. But it was a little too late as Simba wa Nairobi held on to register a seventh home win over Leopards in 13 games.

Not only did City Stars win the game, but also provided the MVP in midfielder Brain Mzee who had won the same accolade on match day two against Bidco United.

With the win, Simba wa Nairobi moved two places up to eleventh on the log with 12 points, as Leopards dropped to 15th on eight points.

Next up for City Stars is an away game to Tusker during matchday eleven on Saturday 11 Nov 2023 in Ruaraka starting at 3 p.m.


Nairobi City Stars: 13. Elvis Ochoro, 30. Rowland Makati, 4. Timothy Muganda-Captain, 15. Wycliffe Omondi, 26. Dennis Wanjala, 18. Clifford Ouma (16. Elvis Noor-81), 25. Brian Mzee, 11. Andrew Kisilu (9. Mohammed Bajaber-67), 22. Samuel Kapen (6. Ronney Kola-81), 19. Vincent Owino (10. Dennis Oalo-77, 3. Robinson Asenwa (17. Brian Mose-81)

Unused subs: 1. Edwin Mukolwe, 8. Calvin Masawa, 12. Edwin Buliba, 27. Gilbert Abala

Out: 5. Newton Ochieng, 7. Pius Omachi, 20. Kelvin Etemesi, 21. Yuto Kusaba, 23. Julius Ombacho, 31. Abuyeka Kubasu, 32. Sosthenes Idah

Coach: Nicholas Muyoti

AFC Leopards: 22. Humphrey Katasi, 11. Luke Namanda, 29. Vincent Mahiga, 12. Kaycie Odhiambo, 4. Randy Bakari, 6, Mousa Oundo (18. Bonface Munyendo-81), 7. Jafari Owiti ( 2. Emmanuel Lwangu-46), 36. Kevin Kimani (50. Victor Otieno-46), 9. Brian Yakhama, 33. Victor Omune (21. Maxwell Otieno-78), 23. Cliffton Miheso (32. Ronald Shichenje-46)

Unused subs: 14. Yassin Sije, 17. Shawn Oloo, 32. Levis Opiyo, 34. Azizi Okaka

Nairobi City Stars: –
AFC Leopards: 12. Kaycie Odhiambo (35)

Nairobi City Stars: 19. Vincent Owino (22), 22. Samuel Kapen (55), 3. Robinson Asenwa (61)
AFC Leopards: 9. Brian Yakhama (83-pen), 50. Victor Otieno (59)

, , , , , , , ,