December 14, 2019 Patrick Korir

Black Stars stops City Stars to scoop JJF Jamii Cup

Black Stars wins JJJ Jamii Cup after seeing off City Stars 1-0 at Camp Toyoyo on Sat 14 Dec 2019

Kibera Black Stars ended Nairobi City Stars 22 match unbeaten run in the National Super League (NSL) after seeing them off 1-0 in a derby at Camp Toyoyo, Jericho in a match day 19 tie on Saturday 14 December 2019.

Witnessed by a packed crowd, the two sides went to the break tied 0-0 but 12 minutes into the second half Black Stars scored the winning goal through substitute Janyeel Otieno who had replaced Shawn Michael.

With the win, Black Stars took home the inaugural Jonathan Jackson Foundation (JJF) Jamii Cup accompanied with Kshs 20,000 as City Stars settled for the consolation Kshs 10,000.

The game had all the pressures of a derby, but it is Black Stars that mustered voices from the touchline better to eventually win the pulsating duel. City Stars will rue many missed chances for the loss especially in the first minutes of the game.

From the results, City Stars, unbeaten in the first 18 games of this season, maintains top spot with 43 points as Black Stars improved to 16 points following the win that adds on to a 3-1 triumph over FC Talanta last weekend.

Being the year-ender, both sides will take a festive break and revisit the season with second leg matches starting Saturday 11 January 2020.


Nairobi City Stars

Lineup: 23. Levis Opiyo, 8. Calvin Masawa, 4. Salim Abdalla, 22. Wycliffe Otieno, 28. Kevin Okumu, 3. Charles Otieno, 2. Elvis Ojiambo (16. Vincent Otieno), 30. Anthony Kimani (Captain), 21. Oliver Maloba, 25. David Gateri (19. Jimmy Bageya), 11. Davis Agesa (26. Ebrima Sanneh)

Unused Subs. 1. Ronny Kagunzi,  17. Noah Abich, 13. Eric Ochieng, 12. Edwin Buliba

Coach: Sanjin Alagic

Kibera Black Stars

31. Blessing Khan, 7. Sylvanus Ochieng, 5. Donald Opiyo, 30. Rashid Mayaka, 10. Dennis Ochieng, 7. Peter Onduso, 4. Bill Okumu, 12. Nicholas Omondi, 6. Shawn Michael, 17. Hillary Odhiambo

Subs: Maclaude Odagi, 21. Dennis Wanyama, 22. Evans Chief, 25. Kevin Ouma, 11. Robinson Amule, 9. Janyeez Otieno, 27. Anwar Munawar

Coach: Elvis ‘Valdo’ Ayany

, , ,